Home > Uncategorized > Two year anniversary

Two year anniversary

I recently received a comment from a new Obagi user asking for advice and an answer to the all important question of whether or not I would “do it again”? Answer; yes I would!

In her post Lisa – the latest member of the Obagi gang – mentioned that having read my entire blog she never found the final entry telling the world of the wonders of Obagi and how happy I am with the results. This is a terrible oversight on my part and I feel awful that I just abandoned my readers without really signing off. Now as I approach the two year anniversary of when I first started Obagi, I genuinely can’t believe it has been that long, it feels like the perfect time to come back and share my thoughts about the product and the entire experience.

Simply put it was hard. Although I knew what to expect with regards to redness, flakiness etc I did not expect it to be so relentless for the entire 3 month period. Everybody is different and for some people the effects subside after a couple of months but for me it was continuous and that was the toughest bit. I kept waking up thinking today is the day that I will turn the corner and the new fresh skin will start shinning through but it didn’t. It didn’t stop until I stopped using the products.

But….. Yes it was worth it. My skin is so much better and I get complements and comments on how good it is, even now, over a year after having finished the course. Now let’s be straight with each other, I still have some blemishes, I still get spots but nothing compared to before. I no longer get clusters of breakouts, I no longer get massive boil like lumps and the overall quality of my skin is clearer, smoother and healthier looking.

I am really happy that I did the course and if I could go back and do it all again I would and this time I would stick it out right to the bitter end. Would I recommend it to someone else? Yes but you need to be prepared for a tough ride. This is not a miracle overnight cure. It takes time, patience, strength and humility (you will have to go on living your life despite looking like a you have a severe case of sunburn). But if you are prepared to do it and give up a few months of your life to the lengthy morning and evening rituals, you will be so very pleased that you did. No regrets just beautiful looking skin.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jenny
    May 5, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    I have been on Obagi for 9 weeks. The first two weeks were horrible and I stopped. My dermatologist recommended I start again when my face recovered and only add one product a week. I started just with the gentle cleanser then the second week added toner… then clear in the third week…exfoderm the next…then blender + refissa. I added Vit C serum last bc it was said it may irritate the breakouts I had from the first two weeks.

    This method works. I really didn’t have much peeling at all. I have had about 3 cycles of breakouts but I spot w/ the exfoderm a little more than usual and they dry up. I also avoid the serum in areas of breakouts to not irritate them further. For makeup if I have to use it I use glo minerals… all natural… not supposed to cause breakouts.

    I know this blog is fairly old but … hopefully those of you who have spent the money will try it this way to slowly acclimate yourselves to the product line. I am ready to cycle into some more clear skin myself…it should be another week or so. I am very pleased with the results. I had freckles and uneven skin tone before… now you can barely notice any freckles and the compliments from other people are pouring in!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment